To content

Curriculum Vitae

Since 01.09.2018 Professor (W3) for Inorganic Chemistry (TU-Dortmund)
10/2017   Appointment as Lecturer (Privatdozent)
09/2017   Habilitation, Venia Legendi (Dr. habil.)
09/2015 Positive Mid Term Evaluation
10/2013  Appointment as Emil-Fischer-Fellow (Status Juniorprofessor)
seit 04/2013 Start of Habilitation Work (Univ. Würzburg)
07/2011 Appointment as Akademischer Rat
07/2010-06/2011  Start of independent work at WWU Münster with Prof. Luisa De Cola
02/2010-05/2010 Research stay at CNRS Rennes (France) with Prof. Dr. A. Boucekkine and Dr. J.-F. Halet "DFT-/TD-DFT-Studies of Diethynylmetallacyclopentadienes"
01/2008-06/2010 Postdoc at Durham University (UK) with Prof. Dr. Todd B. Marder and Prof. Dr. Andrew Beeby "Photophysics of Organic and Organometallic Compounds"
10/2007-12/2007 Postdoc with Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun (HU Berlin)
04/2004-10/2007 PhD studies with Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun (Universität Bielefeld/HU Berlin) „From bond activation to catalytic derivatization: transition metal mediated C-F bond cleavage as a key step“
09/2003-02/2004 Diploma thesis with PD Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun (Univ. Bielefeld) „Catalytic cross coupling of a fluorinated pyrimidine by C-F activation in the presence of a C-Cl bond“
02/2002-08/2002 Research stay at the University of British Columbia, Vancouver (Canada) with Prof. Dr. Derek P. Gates Thesis "Metathesis reactions of vinyl functionalized borazines"
10/1998-02/2004 Undergraduate studies Chemistry and Biochemistry (Univ. Bielefeld)

Awards, Scholarships and Acknowledgements

2021 Teaching Award of the TU Dortmund (Category 1, Lectures with more than 60 participants)
2017 Award of the Keck-Köppe-Förderstiftung
2016 Award of the Dr. Otto Röhm Gedächtnisstiftung
2013 - 2017 Emil-Fischer-Fellow, JMU Würzburg
2011 - 2016 Habilitation grant of the DFG
2010 Reintegration grant of the DAAD
2009 - 2010 Marie-Curie-Research-Fellow of the European Union (FP7)
2008 - 2009 DAAD-Postdoc-Fellowship
2007 PhD with "Summa cum laude"
2000 - 2003 Student travel grants to visit the Bunsentagungen of the DBG


Since 12/2021 Member of the Editorial Board of Inorganics
Since 10/2021 Fachgruppe Photochemie (GDCh)
Since 10/2021 Wöhler-Vereinigung für Anorganische Chemie (GDCh)
Since 10/2020 Member of the Faculty Council of the Department CCB
Since 02/2020 Member of the Senate Commission Quality Development in Studies and Teaching (SK QSL)
seit   04/2017 Steering Committee/Advisory Board SPP 2102 "Light controlled reactivity of metal complexes"
seit   11/2015 Deutscher Hochschulverband e.V.
seit   04/2004 Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker e.V. (GDCh)

Location & approach

The campus of TU Dort­mund University is located close to interstate junction Dort­mund West, where the Sauerlandlinie A 45 (Frankfurt-Dort­mund) crosses the Ruhrschnellweg B 1 / A 40. The best interstate exit to take from A 45 is "Dort­mund-Eichlinghofen" (closer to Campus Süd), and from B 1 / A 40 "Dort­mund-Dorstfeld" (closer to Campus Nord). Signs for the uni­ver­si­ty are located at both exits. Also, there is a new exit before you pass over the B 1-bridge leading into Dort­mund.

To get from Campus Nord to Campus Süd by car, there is the connection via Vogelpothsweg/Baroper Straße. We recommend you leave your car on one of the parking lots at Campus Nord and use the H-Bahn (suspended monorail system), which conveniently connects the two campuses.

TU Dort­mund University has its own train station ("Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät"). From there, suburban trains (S-Bahn) leave for Dort­mund main station ("Dort­mund Hauptbahnhof") and Düsseldorf main station via the "Düsseldorf Airport Train Station" (take S-Bahn number 1, which leaves every 20 or 30 minutes). The uni­ver­si­ty is easily reached from Bochum, Essen, Mülheim an der Ruhr and Duisburg.

You can also take the bus or subway train from Dort­mund city to the uni­ver­si­ty: From Dort­mund main station, you can take any train bound for the Station "Stadtgarten", usually lines U41, U45, U 47 and U49. At "Stadtgarten" you switch trains and get on line U42 towards "Hombruch". Look out for the Station "An der Palmweide". From the bus stop just across the road, busses bound for TU Dort­mund University leave every ten minutes (445, 447 and 462). Another option is to take the subway routes U41, U45, U47 and U49 from Dort­mund main station to the stop "Dort­mund Kampstraße". From there, take U43 or U44 to the stop "Dort­mund Wittener Straße". Switch to bus line 447 and get off at "Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät S".

The H-Bahn is one of the hallmarks of TU Dort­mund University. There are two stations on Campus Nord. One ("Dort­mund Uni­ver­si­tät S") is directly located at the suburban train stop, which connects the uni­ver­si­ty directly with the city of Dort­mund and the rest of the Ruhr Area. Also from this station, there are connections to the "Technologiepark" and (via Campus Süd) Eichlinghofen. The other station is located at the dining hall at Campus Nord and offers a direct connection to Campus Süd every five minutes.

The AirportExpress is a fast and convenient means of transport from Dortmund Airport (DTM) to Dortmund Central Station, taking you there in little more than 20 minutes. From Dortmund Central Station, you can continue to the university campus by interurban railway (S-Bahn). A larger range of international flight connections is offered at Düsseldorf Airport (DUS), which is about 60 kilometres away and can be directly reached by S-Bahn from the university station.

The facilities of TU Dortmund University are spread over two campuses, the larger Campus North and the smaller Campus South. Additionally, some areas of the university are located in the adjacent "Technologiepark".

Site Map of TU Dortmund University (Second Page in English).